EC3101 Review – Microeconomic Analysis II

Taken in AY17/18 Sem 1

Lecturer: Prof. Timothy Wong

Tutor: Qiao Yongchuan

Workload: 1x 2h weekly lecture, 1x 1h weekly tutorial, 2x Homework assignments, 1x Mid-terms, 1x Finals

EC Majors gotta take this too. It’s your core module.

Lecture: Prof Timothy is very clear in his delivery and teaches in a way that it’s easier for us to understand. I feel like I am able to follow his slides for the most part. And he’s also quite funny too. Content for 3101 is quite okay too, there’s like Intertemporal Choice which can get a little mathy, and there’s Game Theory which is my favourite, Oligopolies, Public goods etc.

Tutorial: Basically there’ll be weekly worksheets for you to do at home and present in class. Just do the tutorials so you won’t feel too lost in class. Yongchuan loves to ask random students in the class to answer random questions for that week’s lecture and tutorial. So if you didn’t do the tutorial and just wanna attend the tutorial for the attendance, while you “plan to catch up yourself next week”, just hope he don’t call you.

Homework Assignments: There were 2 homework assignments. It’s just like tutorial questions, but this time, you can do it in small groups together and submit it. Naturally, the tutor won’t be going through the questions before you submit them. It’s graded, after all. And we were trying to get some hints and ask him some questions about the homework indirectly, but Yongchuan was quite sharp hahaha wellz.

Mid-Terms: I guess I didn’t study as hard as I’d like for EC3101. I got 25th percentile. I always seem to stumble at the Intertemporal Choice part, especially the six equations that we should be able to do easily. I was stumbling over this even till the finals. Also, I mixed up the concepts of the oligopolies which didn’t exactly help.

Finals: I did much better in the finals I guess. Especially if it involves Game Theory. My only real mistake should be the Intertemporal Choice portion again darn but anyway I had lots of confidence and felt that I could maybe scrape an A- in the end.

But nope, I guess mid-terms was too cui for my finals to pull up a lot. Got a B+ instead. Overall though, I think this module is manageable and relatively easy for a 3k module. You’d probably be able to handle a couple of 3k modules more together with EC3101 in the same semester.

Leave a comment